Modifying a fridge for wine storage?

Discussion of the hardware for creating wine.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Modifying a fridge for wine storage?

Postby kyle » Fri Apr 27, 2007 9:34 pm

More specifically, I have a True GDM-12 commercial cooler like so
http://www.primasupply.com/auction_html ... GDM-12.pdf

The mfg does make a red wine thermostat for $120US but I already have a temperature controller from our gracious hosts http://morebeer.com/product.html?product_id=16667 and figure that will work fine to control the compressor (and therefore temperature).

I'm no refrigeration engineer, but the the evaporator coil and fan are mounted at the top and are powered via 120VAC at an outlet at the base of the cooler where the compressor lives. Hence they are separate systems--seems like an ideal platform for such a hack.

Question is, anyone have a favorite humidistat that will function like the above temp controller to cycle the evaporator for optimum wine storage. Other options are to install a humidity gauge and either: keep a pan of water inside the cooler, or re-route the drain from the evaporator to a pan of water inside the cooler.

Somewhere I read that a fresh supply of outside air is provided by some of the specifically-designed wine lockers, which makes sense, but this is a short term solution until a real root/wine cellar is built.

Cheers,
Kyle Accardi
kyle
Taster Glass (2 posts)

Going ahead

Postby kyle » Fri May 11, 2007 7:24 pm

Since there have been enough views of my initial post to suggest some interest in this project, thought I'd update the story.