What's the scoop on Oak cubes?

Discussion on the ingredients for making wine.

Moderator: Moderator Team

What's the scoop on Oak cubes?

Postby mark886 » Sat Feb 21, 2004 5:11 pm

I'm about to add Stavin's oak cubes to my 2003 Lodi reds (zin, merlot, and cab sauv). I've never tried high quality oak in my wines before. Given that the next crush is about 6 months from now, and I plan to bottle in August:

1. How much should I add? I'm planning on adding French medium or medium plus. I want to leave them in for the whole 6 months to get the maximum benefit, so I was thinking 1.5 oz/5gal.

2. Is it imperative that I break in the cubes first, or can I use less oak and get the same effect? I could get a white kit for breaking them in.

3. If I do break them in, would it make sense to add about 2oz/5gal instead of 1.5 oz?

4. Has anyone tried the Hungarian or American varieties? I've heard that Hungarian is like French, but more mild, and American is more pronounced than French.

5. I've never compared medium vs. medium plus. Which do you folks prefer in zins, cabs, and merlots?

Mark
Denver, CO
mark886
Taster Glass (2 posts)

Postby Honeypale » Sat Feb 21, 2004 10:53 pm

I use 3oz per 5 gallons, but I think Shea Comfort, our resident wine expert at B3 should handle this one. :wink: I'll let him know your on here.
Jim Rossi
Honeypale
Liter Mug (100 posts)

Postby Comrade » Mon Feb 23, 2004 3:06 pm

I don't believe cubes, staves, sawdust, essence oil, or any other work-around is worth it.

Don't be afraid to go the extra mile and get a barrel, I promise you will not be sorry.
Join the free homebrew community at http://www.brewcommune.com
Comrade
Liter Mug (100 posts)

How long do you leave them in?

Postby mark886 » Sun Mar 07, 2004 4:10 pm

Honeypale:
When you use 3oz per 5 gallons, how long do you leave them in?
mark886
Taster Glass (2 posts)

Postby Honeypale » Mon Mar 08, 2004 9:38 pm