Anybody ever blow up a corny?

General brewery equipment discussions.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Anybody ever blow up a corny?

Postby eCobbHeavy » Fri Mar 10, 2006 7:08 am

I've read that corny kegs are rated at something like 100psi. Also read that if you secondary in one, you should do a pressure release daily. Is this because the residual fermentation still generates this much gas, or is there another reason to do a release?
eCobbHeavy
Pint Glass (25 posts)

Re: Anybody ever blow up a corny?

Postby MeadMeister » Fri Mar 10, 2006 7:29 am

eCobbHeavy wrote:I've read that corny kegs are rated at something like 100psi. Also read that if you secondary in one, you should do a pressure release daily. Is this because the residual fermentation still generates this much gas, or is there another reason to do a release?

I doubt you'd have an explosion issue. I'm no expert but I think the pressure should inhibit the yeast well before you build up 100 psi.
Secondary: Mango melomel

Kegged:
Witbier
Mild Brown

Bottled:
Oatmeal Stout
Ghetto hard cider
MeadMeister
Corny Keg (500 posts)

Postby MeadMeister » Fri Mar 10, 2006 7:36 am

Check out those crazy pictures if there's any lingering doubt, or just because keg fountains are cool. :)
Secondary: Mango melomel

Kegged:
Witbier
Mild Brown

Bottled:
Oatmeal Stout
Ghetto hard cider
MeadMeister
Corny Keg (500 posts)

Postby Keith » Fri Mar 10, 2006 8:22 am

MeadMeister wrote:I doubt you'd have an explosion issue. I'm no expert but I think the pressure should inhibit the yeast well before you build up 100 psi.

This is correct...yeast are inhibited by high CO2 content.

I'd be interesting to see if a corny could take 100psi without the seals failing or it leaking from one of the posts, etc. But I wouldn't want to be anywhere near it when it did. :shock: Maybe the Myth Busters could do it if they're really desperate for show material. :P
[NOT A MODERATOR]
Keith

Postby Backglass » Fri Mar 10, 2006 8:22 am