Butterscotch Beer

Discuss your favorite recipes here. Ask for tips on brewing certain beer styles.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Butterscotch Beer

Postby nothreat » Sun Jun 08, 2008 6:04 am

Hello. I just found this place and it is great. I have been brewing from partial grain kits for about 15 years. I am looking for a recipe for a butterscotch beer. I found a beer about 10 years ago call "Zebra beer" which had very strong butterscotch flavor and it was fantastic. I have never found it again. I tried creating my own recipe several years ago using butterscotch extract, but it was an awful, bitter brew. I couldn't drink it. Has anyone ever heard of Zebra beer? Anyone have a recommendation for a recipe? I generally like very hoppy beers, but I expect this would need to relatively mildly hopped. I just bought my first kegging system (2 kegs) and I would like this to be my first batch on the new system. Any help would be appreciated.
nothreat
Taster Glass (2 posts)

Re: Butterscotch Beer

Postby majorvices » Sun Jun 08, 2008 6:59 am

Usually Butterscotch is most often associated with Diacetyl which is a common yeast characteristic, acceptable in small amounts in many English ales but considered a flaw in heavy amounts in any beer.

Was the beer intended to have a butterscotch character? Did the beer descrption mention butterscotch as a flavoring? Or was this just something you noticed?
Prost! - Keith
majorvices
Addict (5000 posts)

Postby nothreat » Sun Jun 08, 2008 3:43 pm