Anyone ever add bourbon to their porter?

Tips, tricks and techniques regarding brewing with extracts, steeping grains, and partial mash.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Anyone ever add bourbon to their porter?

Postby A L E X » Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:04 pm

I think I want to try a bourbon vanilla porter this weekend. I'm an extract noob still, and I was wondering when the best time to add, well, bourbon and porter. All the looking around I've done says secondary for both vanilla beans and/or extract (I think I would like to use beans), but what about the bourbon? How much is a reasonable amount? Are there any other ramifications, if I'm bottling? I guess I'm asking would there be an increased chance of bottle bombs with the added bourbon?
A L E X
Pitcher (300 posts)

Re: Anyone ever add bourbon to their porter?

Postby Billy Klubb » Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:07 pm

I don't think your bottles would explode. I would think that it would be harder to carbonate on account of the added alcohol.
There is a difference between Pride and Arrogance. Which do you hold in your heart?

Primary:Wiezenbock
sec/bulk age:Bad Blood soured imperial stout
bottled:ABW, Hellhound Ale (BDS w/ horehound),Eddie's Haunted Porter
kegged:dark lager
ready to drink:Strawberry Chardonnay, Big '10, sour brown, Citra APA
Billy Klubb
Barrel (1000 posts)

Postby A L E X » Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:14 pm

yeah, I guess that is a little over worry. So, how could I add some of that type flavor (bourbon) then?
A L E X
Pitcher (300 posts)

Postby Billy Klubb » Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:17 pm

soak some oak chips in bourbon & add to secondary would be my idea.
There is a difference between Pride and Arrogance. Which do you hold in your heart?

Billy Klubb
Barrel (1000 posts)

Postby cbbrown40 » Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:27 pm