New to cider, how should I do this?

Cider is feremented fruit juice, such as apples and pears.

Moderator: Moderator Team

New to cider, how should I do this?

Postby MaltnHopsrGood » Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:10 pm

I am new to cider, but have been brewing beer for about a year and a half, with many batches under my belt.

I received 2 gallons of fresh pressed (pressed by an old school wooden apple press) apple cider. This went straight from the press to the jug, refrigerated, and then given to me. So, no pasteurization, filtering, etc.

What is the best way to use this? Please provide warnings and things to watch out for, what type of yeast to use, a good recipe if possible, if fermentation differs from beer fermentation, etc.

Thank you and I hope to make a great batch of cider! :D
Bottled: Nothing
Keg #1: Dark Chocolate Stout
Keg #2: Bourbon Barrel Stout
Keg #3: Nothing
Keg #4: Nothing
Fermenting: Pale Ale
Next On Deck: India Pale Ale
Brewed in 2017: 50 gallons
MaltnHopsrGood
Barrel (1000 posts)

Re: New to cider, how should I do this?

Postby thetooth » Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:52 pm

For yeast, I really like White Labs English Cider yeast (WLP775)

For the juice, you'll have to inhibit wild yeast growth before letting it warm up and pitching your yeast... I think you'll want to add sorbate (campden tablets) to accomplish this, but I can't remember how much off the top of my head. You could boil it, like wort, but if you do it will never clear.

Other than that, cider is cake... much easier than beer.

One last thing, and maybe the hardest... you'll need to let the cider age for at LEAST 3 months before you drink it. It WILL suck when it is fresh. It will mellow to become drinkable after 3 months... it'll be good after 6.
thetooth
Micro Brewery (2500 posts)

Postby thetooth » Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:56 pm